Student Government Association

The Student Council is elected by the student body and consists of representatives from each class. Various activities such as Homecoming and community service projects are sponsored by the council. The purposes of the Student Council also includes providing learning experiences for students, staff, and community; developing behavioral evidence of good citizenship, scholarship, leadership, service, and human values; promoting harmonious relationships; improving morale; assisting in the management of the school; and providing a forum for student voice and channels of student involvement.

The officers of the Student Council shall be a president, majority vice-president, minority vice-president, secretary, and treasurer. Each class shall have the offices of president, vice-president, secretary/treasurer, majority representative, and minority representative.

Any student of Meridian High School is eligible for election to the Student Council provided he/she has a 2.5 GPA, administrative approval, and a petition of recommendation from thirty students. Any student of MHS is eligible for class office provided he/she has a 2.5 GPA, administrative approval, and a petition of recommendation from thirty students in his/her class. Any rising senior who meets these qualifications is eligible for election to the office of President of the Student Council. The office of Vice-President, Post I and Post II, is open to any junior student meeting these qualifications. One vice-president must be black; the other must be white.


2013-2014 Student Government Officers

President: Chris Cross

Majority Vice President: Briana Carter

Minority Vice President: Nathan Gatlin

Secretary: Amber Carter

Public Relations: Anquanaizia Hall

Senior Class Officers

President: Aeneas Wright

Vice President: Madeline Griffin

Secretary: Diana Gordon

Majority Representative: Kyla Williams

Minority Representative: Kolton Durey

Junior Class Officers

President: Alexis Crockett

Vice President: Timesha Anderson

Secretary - Treasurer: Demestius Smith

Majority Representative: Mayah Emerson

Minority Representative: Amber Todd

Sophomore Class Officers

President: Hetal Champaneri

Vice President: Kaylah Roberts

Secretary: Renuka Srivastava

Majority Representative: Julius Turner

Minority Representative: Vrunda Patel

Freshmen Class Officers

President: Madison Carr

Vice President: Logan Nave

Secretary-Treasurer: Alyssa Ricks

Majority Representative: Sadrea Brown